In 1987, the Edgar B. Holt Scholarship Fund was established to honor Edgar B. Holt and his lifelong mission for social justice, human rights, and effecting change through education. He believed in helping people realize their strengths and talents, and he wanted the scholars in our community to succeed.

This legacy for helping others was shared by Odell Broadway, Sylvester Broome, Floyd J. McCree, Douglas Wright, and Annie Mae Pointer. We are proud to say that endowed scholarships were established to honor these individuals and their many contributions to our community.

The Holt, Broadway, Broome, McCree, Wright, and Pointer Scholarships have enabled hundreds of students in the Flint community to pursue a University of Michigan-Flint education. For some students, an award from one of these scholarships is the deciding factor in continuing their education. These scholarships have the power to change lives.

Thank you for your commitment to sustaining this tradition. We would like to invite you to join us in making a gift today. Your support celebrates the work of those who fought hard for change in our community and ensures that our Flint-area students continue to benefit from the life-changing rewards of higher education. Every gift designated to these scholarships makes a direct and immediate impact on students.

As 2021 draws to a close, our scholarship committee members would like to thank you for your shared commitment to education. With continued support from donors like you, many scholars in our community will experience the opportunity to develop their skills and talents through education. Please consider making a gift today. Your investment will make a lasting difference in shaping a bright future for students and our community at the University of Michigan-Flint.


Mary Coleman
Clara Blakely

Mary Coleman
Committee Chairperson

Clara Blakely
Committee Member

Street view of the University Pavilion and Northbank Center.

Holt, Broadway, Broome, McCree, Wright, and Pointer Scholarship Committee

Mary Coleman, Chair
Clara Blakely
Vickie Broome
Rev. Melvin Davis
Tonya Keener
Kyle Kendall
Kyle McCree
Hon. Larry Stecco

Support the UM-Flint Holt, Broadway, Broome, McCree, Wright, and Pointer Scholarships